A Workspace Frame is a snapshot of the existing design configuration in a given workspace at a given point in time. Actions that are initiated from the workspace and affect the workspace cache state for a given object (modified or new), or that add, remove, or modify an object are recorded as frames. Frames functionality is available only in the Pro/ENGINEER Wildfire 4.0 embedded browser with access to cache. By default this functionality is turned off, but it can be enabled by setting the preference Windchill Workgroup Manager > Client > Workspace Frame Stack Size to a positive integer that represents the number of recorded frames to be retained in the cache. After the preference is set to enable frames, the frame functionality is available in subsequent Pro/ENGINEER sessions.
Note: The Windchill implementation of Workspace Frames differs from frames in Pro/INTRALINK 3.X. In Pro/INTRALINK 3.X data could be lost by setting an older frame as active and then continuing from that point. In Windchill you undo a frame by copying an older frame's state to a new current active frame. Also, Frames in Windchill are much more intelligent with handling of the file content. Unlike Pro/INTRALINK 3.x which makes redundant copies of files for each frame, Windchill does not, therefore the consumption of disk space should be much less refer to Fig. 1.
Once recorded, you can access frames of non-current states of the workspace using the Event Manager. In the Event Manager listing, you can select a frame (the available frames are a subset of the listed events) and use the Apply this event action to restore the workspace to the state of the selected frame (event).
You can access the frame directly prior to the current frame by using the Pick an Action drop-down menu.
Some of the important properties of frames are as follows:
- Because frames are a subset of server events, each frame contains:
- Frames are purged and removed automatically only when the number of frames reaches the maximum stack limit.
- You are able to lock a given frame in order to prevent it from being purged. To lock the current workspace frame (the current state of the workspace), it must be done from the Pick an Action menu on the workspace listing page.
- When the number of frames you specify reaches the limit, frames beginning with the oldest, will be removed to accommodate new frames. A locked frame will never be automatically removed.
- You are able to purge frames. Locally cached objects associated with those purged frames are subject to cache limit management. Cache clean up will never remove frames. A frame can be removed either explicitly by the user or implicitly by the frame number limit.
- Copying frames (restoring a workspace frame) may prompt to replace objects in the Pro/ENGINEER session as necessary.
- Certain operations that occur in the server-side workspace but affect local cache, such as Modify Attribute for non-filebased attribute modification, are also recorded as frames. Usually such an operation is indicated as a Synchronization of cache.
- There is no frames support for offline workspaces.
- Frames are preserved across Pro/ENGINEER sessions.
- Frames are created only if actions have succeeded and completed. If actions have been interrupted such as by a conflict, no frames are created refer to Fig. 2.